National Practice Areas

The Court's workload has been reorganised by reference to 9 National Practice Areas (NPAs) and where applicable, sub-areas, based on established areas of law. 

This structure has been put in place for the following reasons:

  • to foster consistent national practice
  • for the utilisation of specialised judicial and registrar skills
  • for the effective, orderly and expeditious discharge of the business of the Court

A detailed description of each NPA (and any sub-areas) can be found on the NPA Descriptions page.

The nine NPAs and sub-areas are:

Was this page useful?

What did you like about it?

How can we make it better?

* This online submission is protected by captcha
Security key

Can't read the security key? Click here to get a new key